Lawrence’s Galway – 2013

/Lawrence’s Galway – 2013
Lawrence’s Galway – 20132017-09-15T15:36:58+01:00

Lawrence’s Galway

In 1865, William Mervyn Lawrence (1840-1932) opened a Photographic Studio opposite the General Post Office on Sackville (now O’Connell) Street in Dublin. Although all the photographs carry his initials, Lawrence was not the photographer but the businessman and his firm dominated the emerging photographic trade in Ireland.

 

From the late 1870s onwards, Lawrence dedicated a talented photographer, Robert French (1841-1917), exclusively to taking photographs of picturesque landscapes, seaside resorts, and the streets of cities, towns and villages throughout Ireland. The Lawrence Studio produced prints, stereoscopic views and lantern slides from the resulting photographs, which were also widely used in commercial advertising, tourist publications and particularly in the extensive postcard trade that Lawrence developed in the late 1890s. The photographs generally depict positive aspects of Irish life, with only a few instances of social or political conflict such as eviction scenes.

 

The full Lawrence collection is with the National Library of Ireland and can be viewed online via their website www.nli.ie.

 

DOWNLOAD HI-RES PANELS

Lawrence’s Galway

Lorem Ipsum….


MUSEUM OPENING TIMES

Galway City Museum is open Tuesday to Saturday on four daily timeslots; 10am, 11:30am, 2:00pm and 3:30pm.  Admission remains FREE but visitors will now require a ticket for their visit. Tickets can be booked online by visiting galwaycitymuseum.ie and will need to be presented either in printed format or on mobile phones at the main entrance to the museum.  In light of Covid-19 the number of visitors will be strictly controlled and those attending will have to adhere to correct social distancing and health and safety protocols so that everyone can enjoy the exhibitions in a safe and comfortable environment.

For any further information contact museum@galwaycity.ie or phone +353 (0)91 532 460. 
 
PLAN A VISIT
close-link
Museum Information